Then And Now

The club plays at Bayliss Avenue, with an official capacity is 6,000 (the vast majority standing). The ground was officially opened in August 1988 with a match against the then FA Cup holders Wimbledon. The clubhouse, pitches and car park and other original facilities were constructed at a cost of £450,000, and further improvements were carried out in 2000, including the addition of perimeter railings and hard standing on the dugout side of the pitch. Improvements have continued since then, including the erection of a new 125 seat stand, replacing two smaller stands with bench seating. Unfortunately, problems with vandalism have led to the clubhouse being fortified and the playing area surrounded with high mesh fencing, which also encloses the players’ walkway from the clubhouse/dressing rooms to the pitch. There is also a large car park. Development was completed on a new £4m redevelopment of the Bayliss Avenue ground. The main arena has a 500 seat stand with a balcony over looking the main pitch from the pavilion. The pavilion contains a bar, changing facilities and an indoor sports hall and gym. The main arena pitch will be surrounded by covered terracing with the rest of the ground comprising of a second sports pitch and multi use outdoor sports facilities available seven days a week to the local community.

Club History

The clubs origins can be traced back to 1969 when a community team for local youngsters, was formed. This club merged with Thamesmead’s senior football team, Southlake FC in 1973 to become the Thamesmead Town that we know today – the Town being added to the name in 1985, and a year later the club first moved to our current home at Bayliss Avenue. The new ground was “officially” opened in 1988 against the holders of the F.A. Cup, Wimbledon.

The club gained senior status during the summer of 1987 and were accepted into the London Spartan League for the 1987/88 season. The club joined the Kent League in June 1991, where they remained until 2008. The Mead enjoyed their best ever run in the FA Vase in 1995/96, reaching the last 16 whilst in the FA Cup, the club reached the Second Qualifying Round of the competition for the first time – a stage that the Club still haven’t been able to get past.

In 2002, the club won its first “senior” competition when the Kent Senior Trophy was secured. The following year, the club finished as runner’s up in the Kent League despite having more points than Cray Wanderers – the League Champions! This was due to placings being decided on points per game after one club (Faversham Town) failed to complete the season. In summer 2004, the results of a grant from the Football Foundation bore fruit as development began at Bayliss Avenue with a new 100 seat stand built. The following season saw the club against finish as runners up in the Kent League – but the disappointment was lessened with by beating Champions Cray in the League Cup Final 1-0. 2005/2006 saw more silverware at Bayliss Avenue, as The Mead won the Kent Senior Trophy for a second time beating Beckenham Town.

Keith McMahon took the helm in summer 2006 and this would be the beginning of a new, successful era for Thamesmead. The new boss continued with the policy of bringing youth players through the clubs ranks which helped bring success in his first season in charge. The first team won the League Cup for a second time; the reserves won a league and cup double and the youth team were victors in the Kent Cup final. 2007/08 was (and to date still is) the club’s most successful in its short history. The Kent League title was won and with it promotion to the Ryman League, before the Kent Senior Trophy was won for a third time.

The summer of 2009 saw work begin to give Bayliss Avenue a massive transformation as work began on “Sporting Club Thamesmead”. The project aimed to deliver first class facilities for the local community as well as a stadium suitable for Conference South which was hoped to be ready for the start of the 2010/11 season.

However, delays ensued, and it was at this time around September 2012 that former Maidstone United Chairman Paul Bowden Brown became involved in the club as a director and then as outright owner, as the club secured its financial position off of the pitch. On the pitch, McMahon’s side won promotion through the Play Offs and secured promotion to the Ryman Premier Division for the first time. Sadly after a dreadful start, relegation following despite a battle that went to the final day – a run of six wins in the last eight games proved not to be enough and the Mead headed back to Division One North.

During the latter part season 2014/15, McMahon decided to leave the Club, and Mr Bowden-Brown appointed Terry Spillane as his replacement as the Mead secured a top half finish.

As part of the following pre-season, “international” football arrived at the SCT as the club contested the “Peabody Cup” with the national side from Jersey; the Trophy was secured by a 3-1 victory. Sadly, despite being in contention for the majority of the season, the club fell away from the Play Off places during the closing weeks of the campaign – a period that coincided with the manager’s departure from the club.

In the lead up to the 2016/2017 season, Tommy Warrilow was appointed first team manager, and with a new man at the helm comes fresh hopes for the season, as Warrilow alongside his number two – former Leatherhead and Dartford skipper Alex O’Brien – look to take the club back to the Premier Division of the Ryman League, in what will be the 30th anniversary of the club playing at Bayliss Avenue.




From August 1st 2017, for all news TTFC please go to

The Rymans League Table

Pos   Team Pld Pts
1 AFC Sudbury 1 3
2 Romford 1 3
3 Thurrock 1 3
4 Chatham Town 1 3
5 Harlow Town 1 3
6 Soham Town Rangers 1 3
7 Waltham Abbey 1 3
8 Thamesmead Town FC 1 3
9 Tilbury 1 3
10 Needham Market 1 3
11 Cheshunt 1 1
12 Maldon & Tiptree 1 1
13 Ware 1 1
14 Wroxham 1 1
15 Barkingside 1 0
16 Brightlingsea Regent 1 0
17 Great Wakering Rovers 1 0
18 Dereham Town 1 0
19 Heybridge Swifts 1 0
20 Redbridge 1 0
21 Aveley 1 0
22 Brentwood Town 1 0
23 Cray Wanderers 1 0
24 Burnham Ramblers 1 0